Back to Top

 Skip navigation

Central Government

Open in Excel:

The central government sector (S1311) includes all bodies established through political processes and for whose activities a Minister of government or other responsible person is accountable to the people through the Oireachtas. This responsibility extends to the presentation of detailed audited annual accounts to the Oireachtas. Central government includes legislative, judicial and executive bodies established in this manner. The sector does not include public corporations or enterprises engaged in the production of commercial services or goods. The main categories of central government bodies are:

  • Departments of State including any additional voted expenditure under the aegis of the Minister; 
  • Extra-Budgetary Funds for which separate accounts are maintained and which are directly administered by departments; and
  • Bodies which are not departments but which are funded almost entirely from the Exchequer, are subject to controls and may be regarded as extensions of government departments. 

Departments of State, Vote Groups and Extra-Budgetary Funds

An annual survey of all central government departments is conducted jointly by the CSO and the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform.

This survey confirms and revises existing listings. It also obtains any extra information required to establish the statistical classification of all bodies under the aegis of these government units.

Departments, Additional Votes, Extra-Budgetary Funds, Non-commercial Agencies and Commercial Agencies are shown in the following tables. See Background Notes for more information.

Table 3.1 Department of Agriculture, Food and Marine

Table 3.2 Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth

Table 3.3 Department of Defence

Table 3.4 Department of Education

Table 3.5 Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment

Table 3.6 Department of Environment, Climate and Communications

Table 3.7 Department of Finance

Table 3.8 Department of Foreign Affairs

Table 3.9 Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science

Table 3.10 Department of Health

Table 3.11 Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage

Table 3.12 Department of Justice

Table 3.13 Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

Table 3.14 Department of Rural and Community Development

Table 3.15 Department of Social Protection

Table 3.16 Department of the Taoiseach

Table 3.17 Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media

Table 3.18 Department of Transport

Next Chapter >> Local Government