Back to Top

 Skip navigation


The CSO Standard Local Authority and NUTS Classification (TXT 1KB) was created to incorporate the changes in Commission Regulation (EU) 2016/2066 of 21 November 2016 amending the annexes to Regulation (EC) No 1059/2003 of the European Parliament and of the Council on the establishment of a common classification of territorial units for statistics (NUTS).


It also reflects the changes in Local Authority areas.


This Classification is made up of 43 Categories:

1 X 3 Digit Code State/Ireland
3 X 4 Digit Codes NUTS2 Regions
8 X 5 Digit Codes NUTS3 Regions
31 X 4 Digit Codes Individual Local Authority Areas

Further Information

Further information on this classification may be obtained from:
Classifications and Standards Section
Central Statistics Office