Appendix

Administrative and Census Areas

There are many different territorial divisions of the country. Those which were used in the 2006 Census of Population are described below. All the areas are as defined at the date of the census.

Townlands

The enumeration of the census is organised, in the first instance, in townlands in rural areas and in streets in urban areas. The townland is the smallest territorial division and was formerly used for administrative purposes. Population figures for townlands, of which there are about 51,000, were last published for the census of 1911. In many legally defined urban areas - Cities, and Towns - and in most other urban areas without legal boundaries it is no longer possible to compile townland population figures as building development has completely obliterated the physical features by which townland boundaries were originally defined on Ordnance Survey maps.

Electoral Divisions (EDs)

The smallest administrative area for which population statistics are published is the Electoral Division (formerly called District Electoral Division). In rural areas each Electoral Division consists of an aggregation of entire townlands. There are 3,440 Electoral Divisions in the State and their populations are given in Table 4 of this publication.

Town and Rural Districts

Electoral Divisions are aggregated to give Towns (or Cities where appropriate) and Rural Districts which, in turn, build up to counties. The Rural Districts, which numbered 160, were abolished as administrative areas in 1925 (in the case of Rural Districts in County Dublin, in 1930) but have been retained for census purposes as convenient geographical entities, intermediate in size between Electoral Divisions and Counties. They are termed rural areas in the present report.

Counties and Cities

In the census reports the country is divided into 29 Counties and five Cities. In Dublin, four areas are identified separately, i.e. Dublin City and the three Administrative Counties of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin. Outside Dublin there are 26 administrative counties (North Tipperary and South Tipperary are separate counties for administrative purposes) and four Cities, i.e. Cork, Limerick, Waterford and Galway.

The boundaries of the Cities are subject to periodic extensions to keep pace with building development and it is not possible, therefore, to show comparable retrospective population figures over an extended period. Counties, on the other hand, have only been affected to a very minor extent by boundary changes and it is possible to compare county populations (including the appropriate Cities) over a long period of time. This is done in Table 2, which shows county population figures for each census year from 1926 to 2006.

Dáil Constituencies

For the purpose of elections to Dáil Éireann the country is divided into Constituencies which, under Article 16.4 of the Constitution of Ireland, have to be revised at least once every twelve years with due regard to changes in the distribution of the population. The Constituencies were last revised in 2005 and the Schedule to the Electoral (Amendment) (No 16) Act 2005 contains details of their composition. The 2006 population figures for these areas are given in Table 3.

Regional Authorities

The geographical sub-divisions used in Table 6 are based on Regional Authorities. These eight regions were established under the Local Government Act 1991, Regional Authorities Establishment Order 1993 which came into operation on 1 January 1994.

Name of region	Constituent counties	Type of area
Border	Cavan Donegal Leitrim Louth Monaghan Sligo	Administrative county Administrative county Administrative county Administrative county Administrative county Administrative county
Dublin	Dublin Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Fingal South Dublin	City Administrative county Administrative county Administrative county
Mid-East	Kildare Meath Wicklow	Administrative county Administrative county Administrative county
Midland	Laoighis Longford Offaly Westmeath	Administrative county Administrative county Administrative county Administrative county
Mid-West	Clare Limerick Limerick North Tipperary	Administrative county City Administrative county Administrative county
South-East	Carlow Kilkenny South Tipperary Waterford Waterford Wexford	Administrative county Administrative county Administrative county City Administrative county Administrative county
South-West	Cork Cork Kerry	City Administrative county Administrative county
West	Galway Galway Mayo Roscommon	City Administrative county Administrative county Administrative county